top of page

Italiano for Beginners

First Italian lesson for beginners.

This is a scenario that will introduce you to some concept of the Italian language

Let's suppose you suddenly find yourself in Italy (for no apparent reasons).

The first thing I'd want my beginner students to know in such a predicament is to actually ask where they are..

"Dove Sono?"

"Dove" expresses the concept of location as in "where", while "sono" expresses the concept of being. Now, with this simple sentence, you might have noticed something about Italian: where is the subject?

The subject is "sottinteso" which means implied from the verb "sono". You see, with the Lazy language approach, I don't want you to think that "sono" is a certain person (first or second), either singular or plural.

Rather, I want you to learn that if you are talking about yourself, you use "sono".

I am happy -> Sono Felice I am hungry -> Sono Affamato I am beautiful -> Sono bello (this one is true)

The last two will introduce us to another important aspect of Italian correct speaking. You see, I am a man, so I have to use Affamato (Hungry) and Bello (beautiful), whereas, a woman would be Affamata or Bella.

As you noticed, I didn't mention Felice (happy) which stays the same for male and female.

To sum up.. You are in Italy, lost, hungry, stupidly happy and you also feel confident and beautiful:

"Dove sono? (then you introduce yourself as well) sono bello, affamato e felice"

Did you like this lesson?

Hit subscribe for more lessons to come. Antonio

bottom of page